TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

A glance at how youngsters view celebrities brings to light a question that has several times provoked discussions, that is, whether the opinions of famous people are more important young people than to senior citizens. Some might contend that paying too much attention on celebrities can distract students from their study, thus it is not desired. However, my suggestion is that the thoughts of famous people can be stimuli for young people to work harder.

First and foremost, many celebrities do not get famous by chance, but through their own hard work, and they are excellent role models for young people. For instance, many teenagers were impressed when an America born Chinese, Shuhao Lin, gained a sweeping win in the NBA competition. Not been heard of by the public for a long time, he became famous instantly. His stories of being outstanding is also encouraging, for his talent in basketball was not recognized by others for a long time, but he sticked to what he loves and had gone through much hardship. His spirit has persuaded many teenagers to pursue their dreams of being either an athlete or a scientist, which is crucial to them in their life.

Secondly, young people are more open to new ideas and are thus easier to be influenced by famous people than older people. This is best illustrated by the example of rejecting ivory trade. Ivory trade used to be legal in my country, China. Nonetheless, the market in China was so big that it caused devastating effects on wild elephant populations. In the wake of this brutality, a group of famous people, including movie performers and singers, cooperated with NGOs to promote the halting of legal ivory trade. Many young people, who are actually frenetic fans of those celebrities, got to know about the problem and discussed it. Although older adults did not responded as positively as younger people, the impact celebrities exerted on young people still pushed the government to ban ivory trade.

Due to aforementioned ground, I agree that ideas of celebrities are more important to young people than to older people.