TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

Artists, idols or celebrities, all depend on their fanbase, in plain words, they depend on what society thinks of them and how they influence society. But who can they influence more? young audiences or older, more mature ones? I think that young people take the opinions of their idols more seriously. I want to prove my point with the following reasons:

First, young people are immersed in pop culture. Pop culture comprises the latest trends in music, sports, and media. It is natural to think that pop celebrities target younger audiences. For example, pop songs often talk about rebellion and love, which are things that most teenagers can relate to because of the phase they are experiencing. On the other hand, older people are indifferent to modern artists and current trends.

Moreover, young people are easy to influence. There is little doubt that the criterium of teenagers is manipulable, and this is understandable, they are living in a transition on their life where nothing is stable, and so is their opinion. Accordingly, they look up to celebrities as role models, because teens think they understand them. Ultimately, they take their idol’s opinion very seriously, as if it was their own.

Although many would argue that every person is different and some adults take entertainers opinion just as serious as current generations, this could never be comparable. Most adults have families, that is their world, opposed to teens who have not find their place yet and look up for someone to guide them. Granted some adults are more juvenile, but could never be compared with a true teenager.

Finally, for all the points addressed above, I think that famous entertainers and icons are taken more seriously by younglings than adults. Because of the nature of teens and their desire to follow new trends, they relate better with icons and can appropriate of their beliefs and opinions.