TPO-46 - Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and examp

Celebrities play a significant role in all societies. The famous people can influence different aspects of a society including cultural, political and economic perspectives of people. Some people hold the opinion that younger people are obviously more influenced by the elites than older people are, while, others disagree. Personally, I am inclined to believe that the former perspective is far superior than the latter one for some specific reasons of mine which I would elaborate them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, young people tend to highly follow celebrities comparing with older individuals who are not interested in them. As a young person, it is more probable for you to involve in social media such as the Instagram, Twitter or Facebook where the celebrities nowadays prefer to take actions to influence their countless followers who are mostly in their twenties or thirties. Therefore, inevitably you as a follower will be affected by their thoughts, beliefs and even details of their own lives which they share with you in the form of the frequently posts and attract your attentions. However, your parents who just spend some time in front of TV may not even recognize either the name or face of the celebrities. For example, I have a 14-year-old nephew who knows almost all biographies of Hollywood celebrities and whenever there is a new post on a page of a celebrity such as Jennifer Lopez, he would talk about it for some days. As you can see, youngsters are more affected by famous people.

There is a furthermore subtle point which we should take into consideration, older people have they own strict beliefs and minds. I believe that they have already experienced a lot in their lives which has firmly shaped their thoughts and beliefs. As a result, it is unlikely that they change their mind by someone's influences either a celebrity or a usual individual. For example, my father who is in his sixties always thinks that celebrities are just doing some activities to get fame and money. Consequently, he sticks to his rules and thoughts and he would not display any reaction to them. On contrary, I would get readily influenced because I am more emotional and flexible than my parents. This is why I hold the opinion that celebrities have a great impact on youngsters.

In conclusion, whether highly following them or having flexible thoughts, I strongly believe that youngster can be influenced easily by the celebrities. Additionally, we, youngsters, should take it into account that sometimes celebrities may be not a good source of knowledge and information.