TPO 46

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this day and age, not only do the celebrities enjoy the feelings to live in the spotlight, but their opinions set considerable store by the public. In most cases, young people are inclined to be swayed by these celebrities much more significantly than the old.

The celebrities mainly adopt the internet to voice their attitude towards societal events, and young people get more access to the internet. The worldwide web provides the celebrities to express their own ideas, without the aid of traditional media. It is not uncommon that celebrities' opinions get more approval on the internet than one from the authorized agency. When such divergent opinions on the same events occur, young people are apt to stand by the celebrities' side, completely contrary to the old people's choice. Since young people receive less from the authorized sources and vice versa.

Furthermore, young people are always trying to break the rules, and celebrities opinions make them realize that they are not alone. By voicing anti-conventional views, celebrities are regarded as the pioneer of disobeying the fossilized rules and creating brand-new societal fibers. old people are inclined to reject to this avant garde behaviors, to regard young people who hold different views as those who go astray. I am not to say the celebrities attitudes represent the future, but they, admittedly, cast doubt on the past. such characters are easy to be accepted by young people who are trying to break the constraints rather than old people who have been accustomed to the past.

It goes without saying that celebrities are the pioneer in the social fibers, but they also sometimes misinform people who lack societal experiences, especially for the young people. The celebrities, in pursuit of more fame and glory, may present ideas that are intentionally attracting viewers' eyes. old people who have been familiar with such tricks then will look down upon these pretentious celebrities. However, young people, who are seeking to be distinguished from others, are apt to propagandize such opinions to show off their differences.

As the aforementioned arguments suggest, the young people are the ones who listen for and follow the celebrities at the contemporary society. this phenomenon can not be labeled as "right" or "wrong" simplistically. Instead, we need to guide the young people's values and mind in the positive direction.