Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The reason and claim provided are at most specious. despite the fact that colleges are more professional in guiding students in their study and students are inclined to follow others' directions, the proposal to eliminate all elective courses and stipulte courses that college students are obliged to take runs contrary to the goal of college's education, and is likely to undermine students' future development.

Before pointing out the faults in the proposal, we have to concede that its claim remains sound. people do indeed prefer follow others' order, especially for college students who used to accustomed to hearken teachers' commands and comsummate them effectively in the high school. The burden to choose one's own way is a demanding task, since the world teems with promising choices that are actually a pit and unfavorable alternatives that are going to benefit a lot. if there is a clear map in front of us, few of us can resist the temptation to emulate it. Granted, sometimes the map does not present the best solution, however, given the potential blunders people will make in their own choices, it is an acceptable solution.

however, the validity of the reason can not account for the practicability of the proposal. students might be reluctant to make their own desicion. however, that we deprive their freedom of choices is overreaching rather than appropriate. after uniform study in high school, plenty of them are able to find their talents and interests. Complusory courses regardless of their interest is most unlikely to trigger their interest into study. In high school, due to the pressure to enter high-rank colleges, they have no choice but to learn all the courses, even some of which they do not like. On the contrary, owing to multiple choices of life in the front of them, grades of courses do not play a central role for some students. if students are not interest in courses they are enrolled, and do not have alternative choices, they are unlikely to participate actively in the acadamic part of the college, which counters the original goal of colleges: to enlighten.

Furthermore, we students graduate from colleges, they finally have no choice but to make their own decision. if colleges do not give students enough preperations, they will be more disoriented in the real world. since they have been used to the compulsory compulsory learning, the college is the place where they are guided to jump out of their comfort zone, otherwise they will be more defeated in the future careers. The ability to use discretion to choose one's own way is an indispensible part on the way to success. The college should focus on such development on students' mental ability as well, rather than the acadamic performances only. even in the acdamic world, the ability to find questions is more important than to figure out an answer after giving the question. compulsory courses will do no good in that.

In conclusion, the ability to choose one's own life is crucial in one's life. Thus, despite the reason pointing out an easier way, the colleges should take the responsibility to guide students to make their own decision rather than impose professional's ideas on each student.