TPO 47 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The issue regarding the global events, in this day and year, has never failed to arouse the public concern and at the same time provoke a heated debate among individuals. Some are inclined to be strong believers in the extreme claim that events happening around the world are not important to consider. Perhaps sound and attractive as their argument seems, but it can hardly bear any closer analysis. Accordingly, I, without any hesitation, advocate that knowing the global events plays a vital important role in our daily life on account of the following evident reasons and evidences.

On the one hand, knowing global events can do some help to our investment plan. To be more specific, there may be many huge events influencing one part of economy and then influencing the whole economy just like butterfly effect. People who keep an eye on the global events know things around the world earlier than others. Therefore, knowing global events can react more quickly to the changes than others, which will save us from economic disasters. The point can be better and further supported by the example from my friend John. The trade war between China and the U.S. took place four years ago. John was investing the stock market at that time. As soon as he had heard of the trade war, he sold all his stock relevant to the trade war and successfully avoided an enormous loss.

On the other, it is a wonderful means to broaden our horizon. Precisely, plenty of global events have to do with their local culture, ranging from food taste to religion. In consequence, knowing global events can make us more exposed to the foreign culture and our minds become more adaptable, diverse and flexible. I can think of no better illustration for this point than the example from myself. I used to have no ideas of exotic food. However, one time I accidentally ran into Mexican food. The Mexican cuisine caught my sense of taste using beef taco and fajitas. I started to learn there were plenty of tasty food out of my hometown cuisine and became more open-minded to accept transcultural communication.

Considering all the reasons and examples discussed above, we can safely come to the conclusion that knowing about events happening around the world is significant and highly valuable.