TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

News are an essential part of our daily life. Moreover, with advances in technology, it has been easier to follow news from different devices such as TV or radio or internet. Though some people may disagree, there is solid evidence that following news obsessively could disturb people's daily lives and harm them in many ways; whether psychological effects or their functionality in doing their errands. This essay will illustrate negative effects of following news abundantly on humans.

First, most of the news are about disasters and calamities. Like wars all over the world, or diseases. News not only distract minds from concentrating on daily chores but also affect peoples routine lives and the consequences could be very dangerous. For instance, about a year ago, I was way into news and following them, whether it was political news or social events or other types of them. There was a great fire spreading in a famous building named Fiasco. This building situated in the heart of Hartan; the capital of Somewhere; where I'm currently living. Lots of people were following this event, and it was horrible. Because of the lack of proper management and other factors, this particular event turned disastrous. About 21 firefighters died because the managing team couldn't assess the damages that fire caused to the building structure and in tore down after a few hours; with all of the people inside it. This calamity affected most of the people since it took a week finding bodies in the rumbles; all of whom were dead. I was feeling very depressed and gloomy. I couldn't concentrate on any of my works, and it took me a month to get past that horrible event.

Second, the negative effect of everyday news could be accumulated over time and spot hollow spaces in souls. For example, since the last four elections of the presidency in Somewhere; I have been following the news ever since. Everyday there are news about the liability of authorities in managing resources and finances. There hasn't been really good news in years. These news are hard for people who care about their country and its prosperity and could affect their lives adversely. Consider the construction of dams in this drought region for example. It had numerous negative effects on the environment and people. Many lake and rivers went dry, and underground water resources became arid as well. After a while, I noticed that my personal life affected dramatically and I was even thinking about suicide. I have decided to let go of the news and concentrate on my work and life. It has been really good since and I am improving skills since then.

Following news could affect minds negatively and devastate our lives. It is essential to have some general knowledge about current events; but more than that amount could lead us to depression and dysfunctionality.