TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

We are living in a modern society with the assistance of technologies that enable us to get information around the world in seconds. However, people raise the question of whether they need to know about many things that they are not involved with. People have different ideas about this issue. In my opinion, people should pay attention to many events that happen around the world. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, getting information about many events in the world enables people to open their minds to many perspectives. People admit that they are able to know more about the world thanks to the help of the internet. Obviously, if we know many things are better than knowing nothing. The more we learn, read and get information, the more knowledge we can gain. Reading books, news and events are one of the best way to exercise our minds. Therefore, they can work more effectively and have acumen about many different situations. Moreover, we cannot know what will happen tomorrow. What we learn and consider today may support us in the future. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. Last year, I participated in a contest named "Traveling around the World". They asked me various questions about the world. I could answer them easily and I won big reward because I love to learn many things happen around the world.

Secondly, by knowing more about events occur around the world, people can help themselves and support those who in needs. There are many things happen in the world every day, such as natural disaster and some people get lost. The soccer team lost in Thailand is a tremendous example. Even though this happened in Thailand, people in the world concerned about them. That is why the information about them was shown every day in magazines and televisions. People prayed for them and encouraged their families. It is also a meaningful lesson for us to be careful when we travel to strange places.

In conclusion, people have different ideas about the question that do people need to know many events happen around the world even they seem to be not relevant to them. In my view, I totally support the statement that we should pay attention to many things that occur around the world due to the fact that they can help us to open our minds to many perspectives and we can help each other when they are in need.