TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The modern world can be characterized by brand new events and happenings with either good or bad affect that may occur anytime and at any place. Keeping tracks of all these daily happenings is not an easy task. And, one can even lead a very smooth life without keeping up with the recent occurrences in the world. But, it is quite risky to ignore these current facts because we may face certain consequences for not following them. I, definitely agree that it is important to know about the events happening around the world, even if it may not affect our daily life, and the reasons of this belief is put light on the following passages.

At the outset, I would like state that being up-to-date and keeping track of all the recent happenings in the world allows us to be confident. When we remain updated about something, out confidence level is boosted and this helps us to live a smart life. For instance, a person working in a particular company is definitely required to keep track of all information regarding the rise and fall in economies of different countries of the world. So, if an employee remains updated about all these information, then, he/she can feel the surge of confidence while taking part in a meeting or business conference.

It is necessary to remain aware of the current situation of the world because it may save someone's life. Nowadays, air or water borne diseases spread rapidly among the countries and news related to them are spread at a very fast pace through media. Although we may not get infected by these diseases, it is advantageous to get a pre-knowledge about them so that we can remain cautious.

When we keep tracks of events and happenings around the world, we prevent ourselves from getting embarrassed at social events or in our workplace. I would like to cite my own real-life example in this context. Recently, in the 2018 Asian Games, one of the athletes from India won a gold medal and one silver in relay race and 400m race respectively. Soon, this news became viral in our state as she was from our place, i.e., Assam. But, I was totally unaware about that victory because I was busy preparing for the TOEFL test. The people from every nook and corner of our state was excited about her and talked about her with enthusiasm. Then, in a family event held at my brother's place, I met some our relatives and talked to them. Soon, they started talking about the athlete and I stood there like a statue because I was unaware of that news. I was so embarrassed with myself that after standing with them for some time, I slipped away from their side and quickly surfed the internet to know about the news. This was really a very good lesson I have learnt about being updated.

Moreover, we can have an upper hand at the competitive exams if we are up-to-date about all the recent events and happenings around the world. In most of the competitive exams, one part of it is focused on the knowledge about current affairs. Thus, having an updated knowledge about these happenings will make it easy for us to crack those exams.

It is seen that keeping tracks of recent events and happenings around the world will help us in many ways even if not knowing them may not have any adverse affect on our day-to-day life.