TPO 49 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

A controversial debate which is often raised about the kind of friendship which makes us happy. Some groups of people hold the view new friends are the ones who make us content. However, the other groups may take an opposite point and believe that old friends in spite of being small in number, they are more important. From my vantage point, I concur with the latter groups and believe that old friends are the ones whom we count on. In the following paragraph, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through three major reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that close friends are the trustworthy ones. A close friend is a person that you can count on both in happy moments and sad moments. Apparently, Many new friend are around when you don't need them. However, when you are most in need for them, they disappear. A vivid example can be given to shed light on what was elaborated above is the injury I had two months ago during a football game. Astonishingly, non of my new friend called which made me suspicious if that is really called friendship.

The second reason which deserves some words here is that old friends are the ones who keep a secret. There is always this little secret in a person's heart to seek for advice. Many friends pretend that they care about you, thus they encourage you to talk about thing that is confidential. However, the moment they are out of your place it become known for everybody. For instance, during my education at college, I failed in one of the subjects and told a close friend of mine about the difficulties I'am facing. but, After couple of days, everybody in my class knew about the failing subject.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle point which must be born in mind. The noteworthy refreshing intelligible statistics, revealed by a recent research published in the American sociology Journal, the study revealed that

old friend when compared to old friends were more reliable, helpful, and supportive. The study was done among 120 students from different universities to avoid any bias.

To wrap up, contemplating all aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that old friends when compared to new friends can hold a secret. Moreover, they are intimate, and caring.