TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

As a saying goes,only true friends can see the pain in your eyes while others just see the smile on your face.It's not the number of friends you have but the close relationship between you and your friends that counts.So from my perspective of view, the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over along period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends.

First of all, only time can tell which friend is a true friend.In other words, you can't have a true friend until you become friends with him or her for a long period of time. Because when you first meet someone, you can't know about him or her very well in a very short time,and as time goes by, you will have a better understanding of him or her, and then you will become close to each other.

What's more, getting well with a small number of people over a long period of time means that you and your friends share more experiences with each other and have more common memories ,which is a significant mark of your long-lasting friendship,thus whenever you recall those precious memories, you will gain much happiness from that.For instance, I grow up with my two best friends. It's been 7 years since we got to know each other.We are classmates in junior high. And we did many funny things together such as playing basketball, making faces to girls and doing experiment using some pieces of wood.After we graduated from junior high and went on furthur study, we still kept in touch.Every vacation we would gather together and hang out for fun.Whenever I think back the moment we spend together, I will feel a deep happiness from the bottom of my heart.

Admittedly,the ability to make many new friends easily does have some advantages, which can let you communicate with people easily, but once your friendcycle become too large,and you don't have a very good friend to chat with, you will feel much more lonely.Again,it's not the number but the quality of friends that counts.

In conclusion,the ablility to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is of greater importance.