TPO-49 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

It is, indeed, like a blessing to have friends whom one can trust with blindfolded eyes. Friendship and happiness are like two strands of DNA that are intertwined with each other. And the ability to maintain friendships is also a laudable quality which not everyone possesses. I am the kind of person who likes to make new friends while maintaining a very loving relationship with my friends from the past. But, I do agree that maintaining friendships with a small number of people over a long period is very important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends.

The fact that quality matters more than quantity is also applicable in case of friendship. It is important to maintain a good friendship with the few friends you have rather than craving for a lot of friends but failing to maintain all of them. If we have a selected number of friends then we can spend more quality time with those few friends and this makes the bond between us stronger. This, in turn, helps us in maintaining a good relationship between our friends over a long period of time.

Moreover, maintaining friendships for a long period of time allows us to get the treatment like that of a family member. Over the years that we have remained friends, we get to know each other so much that their pain becomes our pain and their joy becomes our joy too. For example, I became friends with Anna about four years ago and we are still in touch with each other even if we are separated by long distances. We have bonded to each other in such a way that when we meet we forget about the whole world. It really feels happy when you have such a long-time friend and he/she is like a soulmate to you.

Trust is something that builds up gradually over time. By maintaining friendship over a long period, two friends gradually gain trust of each other, which is very necessary to keep friendship healthy. The ability to make new friends is a great quality but we cannot easily trust someone whom we have met a little while ago. But, getting a friend whom we can trust with blindfolded eyes is possible only if we maintain friendships for long time.

We usually like to share our pain and pleasure with our friends. But, it is quite difficult to open ourselves up in front of new friends as we do not know much about them. Maintaining friendships with even a small number of friends for long period of time provide us access to such loyal friends with whom we can share even our darkest secrets without any fear. They provide us a shoulder to cry at times of distress and laugh with us at times of happiness. Thus, we become each others guide in different life situations.

Hence, having the ability to maintain friendship for a long period of time, even if it is with a handful of people, is more important for our happiness as it allows us to feel what real friendship means in one's life.