TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Humans are a social being/entity. The great majority of people are inclined to have some friends. Some people just have some close friends during their lives, while some people have plenty new friends. In my opinion, people need to old friends rather than various and plentiful new friends for happiness. Since, we can express our feeling with our close friends. We are more comfortable with old friends. In addition, old friends help to each other more than new friends.

First, everybody sometimes wants to express her intrinsic feeling. In better words, we need to speak with somebody about some private issues. we can just express some feeling to our old friends. For example, when we love somebody, we need to speak with a close friend about him/her. We think that we need somebody to listen our words. In addition, sometimes we need to talk with a close friend about our families and parents’ situations. Most of the people are emotional and they need to have intrinsic happiness. A close friend helps us to balance our feeling during time. We cannot express our feeling to new friends. Therefore, old friends are crucial for everybody to be happy.

Second, we are more comfortable with our old friends. When we are with new friends, we should pay attention to our behavior. Sometimes, we act for new friends and we cannot behave like our close friends. For example, some people are greedy and want to eat some junk foods, but when they go to restaurant with new friends, they try to eat less and healthy foods, since they want just to show off that they have a healthy lifestyle. In better words, we are more honest with our old friends, we feel more comfortable when we are spending time with them.

Third, close friends can help us better in distress and hard situations. For example, when we are in financial distress, just a close friend can lend some money to us. In addition, when we want to ask help, like request somebody to buy something or help to solve a problem, we should call to our close friends. They are not a good weather friends like new friends.

All in all, although making friends with new people is interesting and we can learn many things from new people, just our close friends are a good supporter in terrible situations and we can just trust to old friends for expressing our feelings.