TPO 49- Independent writingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Each person has his own definition about the happiness but there is no doubt that everybody agrees with this statement that having friends is a contributing factor for happiness. Some people are happy with some few close friends during their lives, while some people enjoy being be friend with plenty new people. In my opinion, people need to old friends rather than various and plentiful new friends for happiness. Since, not only we can express our feeling with our close friends but also, we are more comfortable with old friends. In addition, old friends help to each other more than new friends.

First, Most of the people are emotional and they need to express her intrinsic feeling with a close and old friend. In better words, we cannot talk about somethings with our new friends and we would rather to talk with a close friend. For instance, we can just express some feeling about a person that we love her. We think that we need somebody to listen to our words and feeling that she/he would be familiar with us for years. Take another example, sometimes we need to talk with a close friend about our families and parents’ conditions. Therefore, a close friend helps us to balance our feeling during time and they are vital for happiness.

Second, we are more comfortable with our old friends and we do not care about some restrict social traditions, while we should pay attention to our behavior when we meet new friends. Sometimes, we act for new friends and we cannot behave like our close friends. For example, some people are greedy and want to eat some junk foods, but when they go to restaurant with new friends, they try to eat less and healthy foods, since they want just to show off that they have a healthy lifestyle. In better words, we are more honest with our old friends, we feel more comfortable when we are spending time with them.

Third, when we are in distress and hard situations, close friends more likely to help us than new friends. Take financial distress as an example, when we are in financial distress, just our close friends lend us money. For instance, when I was admitted for graduate in a top university, I decided to buy a new laptop for myself. My close and old friend, Bob, wan in a foreign country, so I asked most of my friend money, but no one helped me. Next to weeks, finally Bob came back and he lent me money. Therefore, old friend are like family members and they support their friends in predicaments.

In a nutshell, although making friends with new people is interesting and we can learn many things from new people, just our close friends are a good supporter in terrible situations and we can trust to o friends for expressing our feelings