TPO 54 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that people highly expected for governments for more investment in athletics, because the success of sports teams brought happiness for the whole of society. So, most people believe that financing in athletics is preferred to art. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that art demonstrate the cultural values of each society, thus governments should have specific attention to it and provide more budget in order to power it. However, I, to a great extent, disagree with this idea that governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

First and foremost, sports teams are the most important entertainment for all social classes in societies. People from upper-level to poor class of society like sports teams and follow them. Sports events such as Olympic or world cups excited their advocates in the world. This widespread interest creates a lot of related jobs and money cycle in different countries. Therefore, investment in this field not only provide happiness and positive atmosphere in societies, but also increased job opportunity and welfare in countries.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that governments aid from sports encourages people to attend to more exercise and rise of healthy in society. The interest and thrill are created by professional athletes, motivate common people for sport. For example, after I read a biography of Laila Esfandiary, a famous woman rock climber in Iran, I started rock climbing. Last year I was successful to win the sports award from the university.

Finally, yet importantly, someone believes that lake of governments support from art is the main reason that put art in difficulty in recent years. Nonetheless, this view is not true. First, arts are losing attention, because of low-quality artworks and weakness in techniques and it does not case by weak financial support. For instance, when I go to the art galleries it is very rare to see an impressive painting. Second, the number of artists who sought for the beauty of artworks declined and most artist just try to make more money.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that governments should spend more money in support of athletics than the support of art. Because athletics increase happiness and physical health in societies and because more investment in art cannot solve the problem of today's art industry.