TPO 54 independent- agree or not? governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic games.

The development of contries has diverse dimensions which each government must support in order to increase its situtaion nationwide and internationally. In this context, there are mutually exclusive ideas regarding whether focusing financially on arts is more substantial or investing more on sports-related issues. From my point of view, I am inclined to the latter idealization in spite of the fact that the former has more aficionados among adults. My answer to this debating bone of contention is twofold. In the following, the rationale behind it will be elaborated by the most outstanding, solid proofs.

The first and foremost reason which is worth mentioning is that this strategy will positively influence individuals' overall health statuses. Provided that governments found different sports and facilitate their ways into citizens' daily lives, individuals will gradually get used to exercising even amateurish. As an illustration, Norway's politicians have decided to increase their sports' ministery's budget for 10% every year from 2010. This decision has led to a great increase in Norwegians health statuse. As the researchers of Oslo University recognized, the demand of medical treatments in their country will have decreased drastically by the end of 2050 if their government continue soporting that ministery. In contrast, Egypt's government does not believe in the power of sports; therefore, the budget of their sports' ministry is relatively low in comparison with Norway. This inclination has drained their government's income which has to spend 200 million dollars every year due to bad health status of their dwellers.

The second and equally far-reaching explanation to bear in mind is that sports are considered as a suitable representative of a nation which can improve a countries reputation globally among high-leveled countries. To put it into a more vivid picture, China's main international strategy is to be known as the most successful country in the world, so in Olympic games they always try their best to collect as many medals as possible. This notion has helped this country to introduce itself as a successful and powerful country among other developed ones, such as USA and Great Britain. On the other hand, India mostly focuses on the improvement of its artistic issues and does not think of winning in Olympic games at all. Even though their population is approximately the same as China, their obtained medals are not even as one fifth as Chinese. This has led to a bad impression of this country in international meetings, like annual meeting of UN. All other well-developed countries think less of India because of its defects in diverse sports.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned rationalizations and facts into account, I insist that focusing on sports is more beneficial for countries although there are some exceptions which can be excluded from the general rule. To recapitulate my opinions, this focus not only can result in the gradual improvement of the health rates of citizens but also helps countries to be acknowledged as powerful and successful internationally.