history courses should be required in universities or not

Whether an obligatory history course serves the students with benefits or it is a drawback cannot be easily determines. Many objectives have to be taken into account and people's view may differ greatly. The answer to this question depends to a great extent on lens through which one is looking at the purpose of history. All that said, I believe that every student should take a history course in their academic setting and as a part of their mandatory requirements. I will elaborate further as follows.

First, although history can be regarded as a record of past events in countries and around the world, its contributes to expanding and individuals horoizons does not end there. History teaches us about our past, our ancestors, the events in our culture and around the world, which are all factors that shaped today's universe. Looking at the world with the assistance of history provides us with a deep insight that goes beyond the events themselves, but recognizes the causal conditions that led to that event. Additionally, history can be full of lessons that help individuls in their personal lives and interactions with the world. In my opinion, there are innumerable benefits in learning history. However, because university students are typically young people with few life experiences and limited insight, they might not realize the advantages of learning history yet. Therefore, making history courses part of their obligatory curriculum can be beneficial for them later in life in many aspects. For instance, I have a brother who used to attend a lot of parties in his college years, and he was not interested in reading any material other than ones his university required. As he had a national history course as part of his required curriculum, he had to study this material extensively, which in turn mad him very interested in this subject which was previously unfamiliar to him.

Secondly, as university courses are usually well-supervised and undergo a lot of revisions and screening processes, and also, university professors are selected based on their merit and knowledge very cautiosly, the university can be the most proper environment to make sure students receieve adequate, accurate, and impartial information in history. There are many groups of people and books which present their own biased version of the history in the attemp of luring people, especially young impresionable generations, towards their own political and social views. In contrast, universities can provide a safe reliable source for students to learn about the true events of the past. This is indeed a chance that is almost quite lost upon graduation. As an example, referring to myself, I could take an elective history course in the university when I was a student, but I did not realize the importance of this course at the moment, and I did not take it. Today, as I have little knowledge about history, I am eager to learn but I cannot seem to find reliable accurate sources.

In conclusion, as history is full of advantageous lessons and universities can be a proper environment for learning that lessons in an unbiased way, I believe history should be a required obligatory course in universities.