tpo independent 48

Many people think that technology has bad effect on students. They say that, for example, accessing the internet wastes a lot of time and disturb students from their studying. Although I understand their point of view, I have another opinion. I believe that technology has a great benefit on the students, it helps them to gather many information in short time, and it helps them by being available at any time.

First, technology helps students gather considerable amount of information in short time. Clicking few buttons on a computer’s keyboard may take few minutes, but will save several hours of searching among books’ pages. I can remember when I was in high school, our teacher asked us to make a research about the ameba in a biology class. At that time there wasn’t a broad access to the internet. I went to the library spending two or three hours daily for five days to gather the needed information. I took me too much time and effort. On the other hand, when I was in the collage, the pharmacology professor asked us to do a research on certain drug effect on the kidney. I went to the library carrying my laptop. It took me few minutes to access the internet. I surfed several webpages and many scientific magazines web sites. In a couple of hours I was done with my research. When we use computer it is so easy to go directly to the required information, no need to read a lot of pages to get to the needed point. This shows how the technology helps in getting much information while saving a lot of time.

Second, technology makes the information available at any time. Technology now makes it easy for everybody to have internet access for twenty four hours every day. Means we can surf the internet any time we need, we are not limited to the library hours any more to do our home works or researches. On my final year of the collage, we were required to make a project and handed by the end of the semester. It was a big project, requires a lot of searches and studying. But being busy with the other studying subjects, didn’t allow me enough hours during the day to do the project. The only solution was to work on the project for an hour every night. Here it comes, thanks for technology, having access to the internet any time was the savior for me. I made it and finished my project before the dead line. The technology saved my success. If the internet and the information were not available at any time, I wouldn’t ever make it to finish my project.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I encourage all people to know and appreciate the benefits of technology in students’ lives.