TPO Independent WritingDo you agree or disagree with the following statement?To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

In the modern era, university professors play pivotal roles in training the future workforce of a country. As they have a crucial duty in teaching academic education and nurturing the generation who will run the wheels of industry in the future, it is important that they perform well at their work. In this regard, some people believe that to improve the quality of education, universities ought to spend more on professors' salaries while others don't adhere to this idea. From my vantage point, university professors deserve more salary and that would cause them to work better. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my view through two significant reasons.

The first aspect to point out is that sufficient amount of salary cause the professors to concentrate more on their work and there would be no reason for them to find another activity to make money along with their jobs. But, if they aren't given an adequate amount of salary, they may focus on other activities to make money rather than focusing on teaching or research activities. For instance, at my university, many professors tend to work in other places apart from their job as professors. For example, they may lead other projects or hold some positions at some companies. This would cause them to devote less time to their work at university. As a result, students can't actually benefit from working or passing courses with these professors since they are not often present at the university or don't pay much attention to their teaching method. Did these professors receive more salary, they wouldn't work at other places and would dedicate more passion and time to their work as professors. Therefore, with insufficient salaries of university professors, the quality of education could be affected adversely.

Furthermore, if such jobs don't provide high salary, young people, who are really passionate about teaching and are really adept, lose their interest in becoming a university professor. They may consider finding another job which offers more salary instead of pursuing their talent. Consequently, a university's faculty would be occupied with other people who are not as knowledgeable and intelligent as they are and students can't learn much in the classes. Thus, the education quality would definitely decline and in the long term, there would be negative consequences for the country as well since its workforce lacks the necessary education and knowledge about their own jobs.

To recapitulate, all aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that university professors deserve to have more salaries since they provide fundamental education for the future generation of a country. Although other aspects should be considered in order to enhance the quality of education, such as improving university facilities and labs, the fact that providing more salaries would bring about better performance of university professors and employment of more qualified and talented professors, lead us to the conclusion that their salaries must be increased.