TPO11-Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others

think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

In this rapidly developing society, there are recent debates over whether getting access too much information is a good thing. Different people hold different views due to their distinct backgrounds and perspectives. Some people think that the internet provides us plenty of valuable information while others believe that access to so much information creates problems. As a matter of fact, the issue of information on the internet is so complicated and controversial that it is impossible to find a universal answer to this question. Nevertheless, I endorse that, to some extent, receiving too much information will produce some severe problems. The following argumentation can substantially verify my standpoint.

To begin with, when it comes to information, truthfulness is admittedly very significant. For instance, Johnny Appleseed, the name given to John chapman, planted large numbers of apple trees in what was the American wilderness two hundred years ago. Chapman grew trees and supplied apple seeds to settlers in the Middle Western Great Lakes area. Two centuries later, some of those trees still produce fruit. As a result of stories and poems about Chapman's actions, Johnny Appleseed became an American hero. However, some of the stories told about Johnny Appleseed over the years may not have been really true. They are actually part of the media-made legend. Someone wants us to believe, so they made up a story and posted it out through media. "lies, damned lies, and statistics" is a phrase popularized in United States by Mark Twain, who attributed it to the British Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli: "There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics." If we can only see those things on the internet in the future, information has nothing to do with truthfulness, what is the meaning for getting access to it?

Further, I want to point out that legitimacy is also an important feature of information. Take child pornography as an example, the explosion of social media networks and the rise of the camera phone have created endless opportunities for anyone to share their self-portraits with the world. However, since technology moves much faster than legislation, there is also a potential for crime committed via social media which shows selfies involve underage nudity or sexual situation, called child pornography. The proliferation of those pictures and videos have really bad impact on children but in nowadays children can get access to these easily through the internet. We should all pay great attention to it for the reason that child pornography is not only bothering children and their parents but also hurting the hope for the world in the coming future.

To sum up, I believe that living in loads of information will create problems more or less. Although information can be valuable for us in nowadays society, it requires us to be sensible and critical in order to use information wisely without getting into trouble.