TPO25-Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities

today’">today’s lifestyles have experienced a dramatic change compared to the past. this change affected young people’">people’s lives as well. In this regard, some young individuals still have an inclination towards past traditions, thus, help their society to a great extent. On the other hand, some have developed attitudes which prevent them from being a part of their society. As far as I know, there are reasons which lead the majority of the young people into holding the latter standpoint.

To begin with, today the social media have taken a large portion of young individual’s time. these media have gradually become popular in the past few years. While being beneficial at first, they threaten people’">people’s lives to a great extent. Nowadays, young people spend so much time dealing with the social media; and this results in a lack of time to study, let alone benefiting one’">one’s society. For example, a student who spends seven hours a day scrolling his or her Instagram account will definitely be in short of time if there is a beneficial activity, like a charity work, in his or her community.

The next reason has to do with one’">one’s spending time with friends. one of the aspects of today’">today’s lifestyles is that young individuals often hang around in the streets and then eat out in a fast-food restaurant. these developed attractive habits are a cause for the lack of interests in some people in helping their communities. For instance, one of my friend, Tony, goes out every night and returns home very late. because of this habit, he ignores his duties in his family, like cleaning his room and buying food materials. As a result, he is now having a strong conflict with his parents who are angry with his way of life.

The last and the most important is a change in young people’">people’s general behavior. The previously mentioned reasons acted as distractions; however, there are many young individuals who have become so arrogant and selfish that they will not help anyone even in their free times. they see themselves in a higher position than others, thus participating in a shared activity is a shame for them. this is a huge difference compared to the past. To further illustrate this issue, in the past, helping an elderly to cross a street brought honor to the helper. however, today many young people avoid doing such a thing because they have developed a negative view of these kinds of activities.

In summary, today’">today’s young individuals are not willing to participate in their communities due to some distractions and some behavior changes. The social media, friends and arrogant behaviors are inhibiting them from being beneficial in their society. I hope there will soon be solutions to address this problem appropriately.