TPO_27_Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

If people have the opportunity to get a secure job, they should take it right away rather than wait for a job that would be more satisfying.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The most precious things we have are our desires since without them living life makes no sense. Nevertheless, we sometimes tend to sacrifice our strongest desires in order to survive. Accordingly, I subscribe to the view that we should take advantage of any opportunity we are offered and do not wait for the probable future offers.

Never before has the competition to attain a job been as strict as it is today. In times of high unemployment and scarce job vacancies, everyone has to strive mightily to get one of the jobs on offer. Even the most talented university students cannot find an ordinary job after they graduate, let alone the job they desire. Albert Einstein, the most prominent physicist of all times, is a good example for this. Einstein failed to get an academic job in physics after he graduated. Instead, he was obliged to accept a mediocre job in a patent office to secure his life with Mileva, her first wife, financially.

Moreover, people are free to switch to another job anytime they wish. Some years of working experience can make a working resume distinctive thereby increasing the chance to be acceptable to better institutions and companies. For instance, a university student who has worked as a high school teacher will have a higher chance to meet the criteria of a university for hiring professors, due to the teaching experience he has gained.

In conclusion, I believe that people should accept any job they are offered rather than wait until for an ideal job. There is never a guarantee that if we wait, we will attain the most satisfactory job. Instead, taking the secure job on offer, we can strengthen our resumes, hence live up to the employees' expectations.