TPO41-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

At the turn of the new century, with the galloping rate of scientific and technological development, no one can turn a blind eye to recent debates over whether teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past than they were nowadays. Different people hold different views due to their distinct backgrounds and perspectives. Some people adhere to the point that teachers are now less valued than before while others believe that teachers are still appreciated and important to the current society. As a matter of fact, the issue of teachers standing is so complicated and controversial that it is impossible to find a universal answer to this question. Nevertheless, as far as I am concerned, I endorse that teachers are of great value in today's society.

To begin with, teachers are admittedly very important for educate children. In fact, it is inevitably that parents will let their children attend school to follow the teacher's guidance. For instance, the so-called “school district housings" refers to houses located within the admitting range of primary or secondary schools, as long as bought and settled, children are ensured to attend school within the respective regions. Many parents have shifted homes to get their children admitted to "excellent" schools, forcing housing prices in those areas to rise drastically to more than twenty thousand U.S dollars per square meter. For Chinese parents, a "key" school is the first step to the bright future of their children. And what makes a "key" school? Definitely outstanding teachers. With the guidance of those teachers, children are able to excel in their academic studies, to learn about fresh and stimulating thoughts, to appreciate fine arts as well as comprehending arts more thoroughly, to identify things that they're genuinely passionate about rather than just dabble in a hodgepodge of things.

Considering a border context, teachers contribute to the society to a great extent for the reason that they play a pivotal role in making a country's future promising - give education to the youth. And in return, the government is rewarding teachers with higher salaries than many other careers. Take professors in the U.S. as an example, the U.S. Bureau of labor Statistics reports that college professors, or postsecondary teachers, earned an average of $74,400 per year while junior college professors or instructors made $70,490 per year. According to the U.S. society, such income can definitely make a family with teachers an upper class. On the basis of the above facts, we can draw a conclusion that teachers are taking a great proportion of wealth in a country by playing a significant role in the society - educating people.

Overall, I hold the viewpoint that teachers are of great importance to children as well as the society, which has been empirically proven by the facts showed above. Although some students show disrespect to teachers, this may be modified or reversed by better education from teachers themselves or parents, and thus, generally, teachers are appreciated and valued by nowadays society.