To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The major cities of a society exhibit the state-of-art technology and culture, from which we are able to glean the important characteristics. London, for example, bears considerable British characteristics and has become a significant showcase of the society for nonnatives. However, England is also famous for its countryside, where a lot of classic literature and innovated scientific ideas are hatched. Those literature and scientific ideas apparently mirror some important characteristics acknowledged universally. Therefore, to understand the most important characteristics of a society comprehensively, one need include major cities and other representative locales in the meantime.

First and foremost, the major cities present a society's modern lifestyle and its developing pattern. These aspects are pivot to recognize the important characteristics of a society. Taking Beijing as an example, the city is now broadly accepted as an icon of China because of the culture and economy. The increasing new buildings and cross-country companies reflect the promising economy of China. And the Peking Opera, without any doubt, is the concentration of Chinese aesthetics, from which a layperson knowing little concerning Chinese aesthetics could have a striking first impression. Therefore, studying major cities are the fist step of observing a society.

However, as the Iceberg Theory goes, only the tip of a society's characteristic show in the major cities, but the knowledge that how these characteristics originated and where they will lead acts as a bulk of iceberg, which often give those characteristics flesh and blood. Again, Beijing, for example, with shorter history compared with other ancient cities and very limited variety of people most from the north, can hardly cover the whole society's important characteristics. There are many culture origins in China and modern Beijing merely acts as a assembly of them. If those differences are not taken into consideration, then the so-called important characteristics extracted for the city only sever to confuse the aliens and even natives. In addition, major cities are increasingly influenced by cosmopolitan cultures, which means the characteristics of major cities perhaps fo not reflect the society objectively.

Moreover, a comprehensive understanding entails unbiased information of the society including major cities and other regions. The understanding of the most important major cities can not be achieved until the information selected is accepted as valid. Therefor, a survey concentrating merely on major cities or important regions is questionable. For instance, the understanding of China society is acceptable when involving the north and the south regions. Only in this way can more people be considered and an indiscriminate survey be possible, based on which the most important characteristics can be sifted. For nonnatives, a comprehensive and reliable understanding is vital for their perception of a new society. And for incipient researchers, comprehensive information also servers to support their successive searches.

To sum up, even though the major cities perhaps eclipse other regions, the importance of these regions can't be ignored for their contribution to characteristics of the society.Therefore,I suggest that we combine the study on major cities and other regions together for a better understanding.