In the United States, it had been common practice since the late 1980s not to suppress natural forest fires. The "let it burn" policy assumed that forest fires would burn themselves out quickly, without causing much damage. However, in the summer of 1988, forest fires in Yellowstone, the most famous national park in the country, burned for more than two months and spread over a huge area, encompassing more than 800,000 acres. Because of the large sale of the damage, many people called for replacing the "let it burn" policy with a policy of extinguishing forest fires as soon as they appeared. Three kinds of damage caused by the "let it burn" policy were emphasized by critics of the policy.

First, Yellowstone fires caused tremendous damage to the park's trees and other vegetation. When the fires finally died out, nearly one third of Yellowstone's land had been scorched. Trees were charred and blackened from flames and smoke. Smaller plants were entirely incinerated. What had been a national treasure now seemed like a devastated wasteland.

Second, the park wildlife was affected as well. Large animals like deer and elk were seen fleeing the fire. Many smaller species were probably unable to escape. There was also concern that the destruction of habitats and the disruption of food chains would make it impossible for the animals that survived the fire to return.

Third, the fires compromised the value of the park as a tourist attraction, which in turn had negative consequences for the local economy. With several thousand acres of the park engulfed in flames, the tourist season was cut short, and a large number of visitors decided to stay away. Of course, local businesses that depended on park visitors suffered as a result.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or nor the "let it burn" policy is beneficial for forests. The article strongly postulates that individuals objected this policy as well as they asked for replacing it with a policy that extinguish fires once it appears. Also, the main reason behind this is the damage resulted from "let it burn" policy. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that the fires are also, constructive not just destructive. In other words, the fires can be very good for forests even if it''s at the scale of 1988 fire.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt, plants and vegetation in the park were destroyed with yellow stone fire. Moreover, the fire destroyed smaller plants and trees. Nonetheless, the lecture counters these points by insisting that the fire permit new plants to colonize, thereby allowing the forest to become more diverse. meaning that fire destroyed large plants, which blocked the sun and heat from small plants that need an opening. Also, the plant seeds can't germinate without heat.

The professor in lecture further points out that "let it burn policy" created a new opportunity for wildlife diversity, for instance, the small plants provided new habitat for rabbits and hares. subsequently, the predators of these new animals would exist in the area. which results in a strong food chain. These claims refute the writer implication of how the fires in forests have a great negative impact on wildlife.

The article lastly asserts that the fire in the Yellowstone resulted in a huge decline of the visitors of the local area. the speaker in lecture counters these points by declaring that the fire in Yellowstone doesn't happen every year. However, in 1988 there were uncommon conditions such as strong wind that is favorable to spread fires. Also, the visitors started re-visiting the Yellowstone in 1989.