n an effort to encourage ecologically sustainable forestry practices, an international organization started issuing certifications to wood companies that meet high ecological standards by conserving resources and recycling materials. Companies that receive this certification can attract customers by advertising their products as ecocertified. Around the world, many wood companies have adopted new, ecologically friendly practices in order to receive ecocertification. However, it is unlikely that wood companies in the United States will do the same, for several reasons.

First, American consumers are exposed to so much advertising that they would not value or even pay attention to the eco-certification label. Because so many mediocre products are labeled 'new" or improved,'' American consumers do not place much trust in advertising claims in general.

Second, eco-certified wood will be more expensive than uncertified wood because in order to earn ecocertification, a wood company must pay to have its business examined by a certification agency. This additional cost gets passed on to consumers—American consumers tend to be strongly motivated by price, and therefore they are likely to choose cheaper uncertified wood products. Accordingly, American wood companies will prefer to keep their prices low rather than obtain ecocertification.

Third, although some people claim that it always makes good business sense for American companies to keep up with the developments in the rest of the world, this argument is not convincing. Pursuing certification would make sense for American wood companies only if they marketed most of their products abroad. But that is not the case—American wood businesses sell most of their products in the United States, catering to a very large customer base that is satisfied with the merchandise.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinion about whether or nor the American wood companies will seek to get ecocertifiction. The article strongly postulates that many wood companies is not convinced to get ecocertification for many reasons. On the other hand, the lecture offsets these points by declaring that American wood companies will contribute to get the ecocertification for many compelling reaspns.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt most individuals who lives in America are most likely to ignore adertisment owing to the fact that they were subjected for too many advertising. Nonetheless, the listening adamantly delinates that American consumers don't see all advertising in the same way. In other words, they attend to trust the claims made by trust worthy company rather that independent persons.

The professor in the lecture further points out that people in the world care about the price. However, recent studies showed that most consumers look at the different between the prices of two product, meaning that if the different isn't that big, people tend to buy certifed one. As a result, people look at other factors than price. These claims refute the writer implication of how American people tend to prefer buying low prices wood rather than certifiend one.

The article lastly asserts that most wood companies in Americal don't export their woods outsides. In other words, seeking to get ecocertification wouldn't be practical because of most of the companies selling their wood in America. The speaker in lecture conters these points by declaring that most of wood companies would like to sell their wood abroad and getting ecocertification would help