The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

As everything in life is like a coin that has two different slides, people must weigh the pros and cons before jumping to conclusions. After all, each and every question requires a careful deliberation in that there are always multiple variables to a truth. Even though some may adamantly believe that being capable of creating a lot of friends is more important than maintaining friendships for a long time with a small number of people, I strongly believe such opinion lacks coherence to some extent. In my humble opinion, having a good friend for a long time is more favorable than making friends easily due to the following reasons.

First and foremost, having good friendships for a long period of time can engender a myriad of advantages. the main reason behind this rationale is that most people find their friends an essential part of their lives. In other words, individuals rely too much on their friends to do a lot of tasks. In addition to this, people spend most of their free time with their close friends. To illustrate more thoroughly, My uncle Jack was studying at the University of Jordan and he didn't have a lot of friends from the University. However, he was always hanging with his middle school friends. At one day, I asked him about his University friends. he advised me to not make a lot of friends because old friends are real friends and you can depend on them. In contrast, creating a lot of friends could be bad owing to the fact most people these days can't distinguish between real and fake friends. All in all, we can't and shouldn't overlook the upsides of having a small group of trustworthy friends.

On top of this, creating a lot of friends nowadays can result in unfavorable ramifications. In the eyes of many people in present-day society, most individuals have a lot of fake friends. Meaning that people need a favor from others in order to become friends. Moreover, creating a large group of friends would be confusing because people will face difficulties to choose their best friends. A great example of this would be, My brother Ahmad was working at a software company and he was friendly with most people there. However, one day he got reported for wasting his time with others instead of working. He didn't know who did this because he was friendly with most people there. But people in current days are looking competitively for each other. Long story short, it's clear as day to me creating a large number of friends can be detrimental.

In summation, yes, it's virtually impossible to provide a completely satisfying answer to an open-ended question. Although the jury may be out in this given essay, we can come to a mutual agreement that the ability to maintain friendships with a small group of people is more essential than creating a lot of friends due to the reasons and details mentioned above.