Genetic modification, a process used to change an organism’s genes and hence its characteristics, is now being used to improve trees. Through genetic modification, it is possible to create trees that produce more fruits, grow faster, or withstand adverse conditions. Planting genetically modified trees on a large scale promises to bring a number of benefits.

Firstly, genetically modified trees are designed to be hardier than nature trees; that is, they are more likely to survive than their unmodified counterparts. In Hawaii, for example, a new pest-resistant species of papaya trees has been developed in response to ringspot virus infections that have repeatedly damaged the native papaya tree population. Planting the genetically modified papayas has largely put an end to the ringspot problem.

Moreover, genetically modified trees promise to bring a number of economic benefits to those who grow them. Genetically modified trees tend to grow faster, give greater yields of food, fruit, or other products and be hardier. This allows tree farmers to get faster and greater returns on their farming investment and save on pesticides as well.

Finally, the use of genetically modified trees can prevent overexploitation of wild trees. Because of the growing demand for firewood or building timber, many forests around the world are being cut down faster than they can be replaced. Introducing genetically modified trees, designed for fast growth and high yield in given geographic conditions, would satisfy the demand for wood in many of those areas and save the endangered native trees, which often include unique or rare species.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not genetic modification is very beneficial for trees. The article strongly postulates that there are many upsides of cultivating genetically modified trees, such as ability to produce more fruit, withstand harsh conditions and faster growth. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that the benefits that come from planting modified seed aren't that much. However, there are may serious problem with these genetically modified trees.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt genetically modified trees have the ability to survive in harsh environments. Also, it's less likely to die from virus infection. Nonetheless, the listening adamantly delinates that genetically modified trees can survive in one condition. In contrast, natural trees can survive in most threaten condition. meaning that some of the natural trees can survive from infection but not all natural trees could survive. On the other hand, genetically modified trees is designed to survive in a particular threat, so if they exposed to different threat all the of these trees will die.

The professor in lecture further points out that companies that produce genetically modified seeds would more likely to charge the farmer more than seeds for natural trees. Also, with the law, the farmer can't collect their seed. Subsequently, he will pay for the company every time he plants. These claims refute the writer implication of how genetically modified trees have economic benefits for farmers.

The article lastly asserts that there is an increase in wood demand for firewood and building, so using trees that could grow faster to provide wood for humans in short time would result in protecting the natural trees from overexploitation. The speaker in lecture counters these points by declaring that genetically modified trees do more damage owing to the fact that they grow more aggressively compared with natural trees. As a result, these trees will surpass the natural trees of getting Nutrients and water from the soil.