In 1938 an archaeologist in Iraq acquired a set of clay jars that had been excavated two years earlier by villagers constructing a railroad line. The vessel was about 2,200 years old. Each clay jar contained a copper cylinder surrounding an iron rod. The archaeologist proposed that vessel were ancient electric batteries and even demonstrated that they can produce a small electric current when filled with some liquids. However, it is not likely that the vessels were actually used as electric batteries in ancient times.

First of all, if the vessels were used as batteries, they would probably have been attached to some electricity conductors such as metal wires. But there is no evidence that any metal wires were located near the vessels. All that has been excavated are the vessels themselves.

Second, the copper cylinders inside the jarslook exactly like copper cylinders discovered in the ruins of Seleucia, an ancientcity located nearby. We know that the copper cylinders from Seleucia were used for holding scrolls of sacred texts, not for generating electricity. Since the cylinders found with the jars have the same shape, it is very likely they were used for holding scrolls as well. That no scrolls were found inside the jars can be explained by the fact that the scrolls simply disintegrated over the centuries.

Finally, what could ancient people have done with the electricity that the vessels were supposed to have generated? They had no devices that relied on electricity. As batteries, the vessels would have been completely useless to them.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not the clay jars found in Iraq were used as electric batteries. The article strongly postulates that its most likey those jars weren't used to generate electricity for several assumptions. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that none of the arguments presented in the text are convincing.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt, the excavation would have resulted in conductors or metal wires connected to the vessels, if they were used as electric batteries. Nonetheless, the lecture offsets these points by insisting that the vessels were found by locals not trained people. In other words, the vessels weren't found by an archaeologist, so the individuals who found the vessels may didn't notice the wires.

On top of this, the professor in lecture further points out that the copper found in vessels are similar to that copper used for holding scrolls in Seleucia. However, this thing doesn't prove anything. the ancient may be discovered that using these vessels and liquid would produce electricity. These claims refute the writer implications of how the copper cylinders in vessels were used for hanging scrolls of rare texts.

The article lastly asserts that people in the past didn't have any device that works on electricity. wich means the vessels may have been useless for them. The speaker in lecture counters these points by insisting that the electric batteries would have been used to create a mild shock. also, people in the past claimed they had visible powers. Moreover, the vessels would have used for healing, for instance, to stretch mussels.