Agnostids were a group of marine animals that became extinct about 450 million years ago. Agnostid fossils can be found in rocks in many areas around the world. From the fossil remains, we know that agnostids were primitive arthropods-relatives of modern-day insects. However, the fossil information does not allow paleontologists to determine with certainty what agnostids ate or how they behaved. There are several different theories about how agnostids may have lived.

Free-Swimming Predators

First, the agnostids may have been free-swimming predators that hunted smaller animals. It is known that other types of primitive arthropods were strong swimmers and active predators, so it is reasonable that the agnostids may have lived that way as well And while the agnostids were small, sometimes just six millimeters long, there were plenty of smaller organisms in the ancient ocean for them to prey on

Seafloor Dwellers

Second, they may have dwelled on the seafloor. Again, there are examples of other types of primitive arthropods living this way, so it is possible that agnostids did too. On the seafloor they would have survived by scavenging dead organisms or by grazing on bacteria.

Parasites

Third, there is the possibility that the agnostids were parasites, living on and feeding off larger organisms. One reason that this seems possible is that there are many species of modern-day arthropods that exist as parasites, such as fleas, ticks, and mites. The agnostids might have lived on primitive fish or even on other, larger arthropods.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about how the marine animals called Agnostids lived and behaved before 450 million years. The article strongly postulates the remains of Agnostids species weren't enough to determine agnostids behavior and food. However, there are many assumptions about agnostids life. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that none of the three presented theories are convincing.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt, the agnostids may have lived in the sea as swimming predators owing to the fact that other kind of primitive arthropods had the ability to swim and prey on smaller organisms. Nonetheless, the lecture offsets these points by declaring that in order for agnostids to be swimming predator they would have well-developed eyes because vision is very important to help in catch preys. However, agnostids were blind which means the idea of being swimming predators is wrong. In other words, the agnostids to be able to catch small organisms in oceans, they would have developed special abiltity.

On top of this, the professor in lecture further points out that the agnostids had the ability to move fast. meaning that the theory of living on the sea floor isn't applicable anymore, because of the primitive arthropods that lived in that way were slow. plus, they stayed in the same area where originated. These claims refute the writer implication of how the agnostids could have seafloor dwellers.

The article lastly asserts that because there are many arthropods exist now lives as parasites, the agnostids may have lived as parasites feeding on larger organisms such as fleas and ticks. The speaker in lecture counters these points by declaring that the agnostids were large in population. However, if they lived as parasites, they would have killed all organisms lived on. Subsequently, there are a vast amount of fossils, which means the possibility of being parasties was rolled out.