A fossil skeleton of a dinosaur called Sinosauropteryx, preserved in volcanic ash, was discovered in Liaoning, China, in 1996. Interestingly, the fossil included a pattern of fine lines surrounding the skeletal bones. Some paleontologists interpret the lines as evidence that Sinosauropteryx had feathers. However, critics have opposed the idea that Sinosauropteryx was a feathered dinosaur, citing several reasons.

First, the critics points out that the fine lines may not even represent functional structures of a living dinosaur, but rather structures that were formed after the animal’s death. After the animal died and was buried in volcanic ash, its skin may have decomposed into fibers. The skin fibers then became preserved as lines in the fossil; the lines were misinterpreted as evidence of feathers.

Second, even if the fine lines are remains of real structures of a Sinosauropteryx, scientists cannot tell with certainty what part of the dinosaur’s anatomy the structures were. Many dinosaurs had frills, ornamental fan-shaped structures growing out of some parts of their bodies. Some of the critics argue that the lines surrounding the skeleton are much more likely to be fossilized remains of frills than remains of feathers.

A third objection is based on the fact that the usual functions of feathers are to help animals fly or regulate their internal temperature. However, the structures represented by the lines in the Sinosauropteryx fossil were mostly located along the backbone and the tail of the animal. This would have made the structures quite useless for flight and of very limited use in thermoregulation. This suggests that the lines do not represent feathers.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not a dinosaur called Sinosauropteryx had feathers. The article strongly postulates that individuals objected the idea of Sinosauropteryx was feathered for many compelling reasons. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that evidence was discovered from fossils in China supports the idea of Sinosauropteryx being feathered dinosaur.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt fiber lines were created after the Sinosauropteryx was buried in volcanic ash. his skin decomposed into fiber lines. However, it didn't represent functional structures. Nonetheless, the listening adamantly delinates that lines were not from the skin owing to the fact that the fossils in volcanic ash their functional structures were well preserved, so it's possibly feathers.

The professor in lecture further points out that the remained lines of Sinosauropteryx contain a chemical substance called biocretain. Furthermore, there is a chemical difference between the frills and feathers. frills don't have bioceratin. Consequently, the lines were decomposed from feathers. These claims refute the writer implication of how the lines around the Sinosauropteryx fossils are most likely to be frills.

The article lastly assets that the feathers in animals are to make them fly or to maintain their temperature normal. Also, the lines were located in the back, so it can't be used to fly or regulate the temperature. The speaker in lecture counters these points by insisting that there are other functions of the feathers, for instance, some birds have colorful tails in order to catch their food by attempt their mate. However, some studies showed that the feather of the Sinosauropteryx is yellow and orange, therefore it was used to display.