the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the long break between semesters. Which of the following would you choose to do?

(A) Students must take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study.

(B) Students must volunteer to work in the university's city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their hometowns.

The university provides two options for the students to work in the break. These two different things both have different aspect of advantages for the students. In my personal, I will choose the first option, attending some other courses between semesters. I will explore the reasons in the following essay.

First of all, learning is the most essential purpose in college. Although I already have a major in the college, if I could have another time to take much more different courses, I will be very happy. Therefore, if the college, coincidently, asks us to make such choices, I will definitely choose to take the other subjects without hesitation. For example, I wish I could spend some time to study English at the university. I want to join the course about the English literature because I always wonder about how the English writer writes the fiction, and how they construct the novel, which is so different to the Chinese writer. But, in the past, I could not understand such knowledge, and no competence to read the profound English literature.

Additionally, studying is a much easier way for me than working in the city. Usually, the works for volunteers are clearing the city or helping the people who live in the town. It needs to spends so many time to finish some kind of works like this, but has little acquired during the process. However, if I choose to take the lesson, it is not only complete the requirement, which the university asked, but also obtain the knowledge in the class. Such knowledge might generate much helping in my future career such as what I mentioned on the above, good ability in English will make students have more opportunity to find good jobs after graduating from school.

In summary, both options are good for students, which could make the students have the diversity of experiences. I am of the opinion that I will choose the first option, which is much suitable for me.