Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Nowadays, there is a different view of the issue about whether colleges should give the specific guidance of the courses to students. Depending on personal experiences and beliefs, we may find that some people hold the opinion that universities should not provide such guidance because students in colleges have the ability to handle this decision, while others have an opposite attitude that college students prefer to follow the direction. As far as I am concerned, I disagree with the statement of the topic that universities should eliminate elective courses and list a clear guidance to students. The following discussion will explore my view.

Indeed, there are some students in colleges that love to follow rules which are made by someone else, because it is easier to have a consummate plan than to make it by themselves. Of course, following the guidance is one of the nature in human, especially when we do not have any idea in our mind, we will expect to have a person to tell you how to do. At the same time, many specific requirements are produced by many very expert scholars that might be much more suitable to students than their own decisions.

On the other hand, we cannot eliminate the choice of the courses because somebody has no such idea which courses he or she wants. The purpose of education in colleges is to teach students to create a sound personality that cultivates the thinking and behavior autonomy to students. If we give up the right to choose courses in universities, we actually abandon the most important thing in colleges. It is equivalent to the invisible cancellation of the university's free exploration, the right to free questioning, and innovation.

In fact, the guidance and the right to let students select courses in free both have their own advantages and disadvantages, and none of them is the best. In order words, we can take different approaches depending on the situations. For example, colleges could rule students to choose the certain courses in the first and second years, and then when they all have the almost equal knowledge and ability to make decisions which courses are their wanting. And as students in third and over years, universities would encourage students to attend more different courses which they are not having such knowledge or they are interested. By such a method, schools can provide the best environment to develop the maximum potential for students.

In conclusion, despite the fact that guidance has the specific benefit to students, there are still many factors we should consider discreetly. Therefore, we cannot presumptuously believe the statement.