We all occasionally need to follow a procedure that we are unfamiliar with or use a tool (such as a computer application) that we are not sure how to use. Some people believe that you should ask a knowledgeable person for help right away when you do not know how to do something, while other people believe that you should spend a lot of time trying to solve the problem on your own before you consider asking for any help. Which view do you agree with and why?

Nowadays, with the high-speed development of technology, more and more people are encountering the situation that they have to master a certain procedure or tool in a short time. How to grapple with this question? Two answers are emphasized. Some people advocate learning the knowledge and skills on their own, while others hold the opposing viewpoints that we should ask for help from experts. As far as I am concerned, I concur with the latter idea.

First of all, learning procedures and tools can be time-consuming if we want to have a good command of them, and a specialist can enable us to master them with ease and more efficiently. If you want to make full use of knowledge, the primary purpose is to have the ability to turn the assimilated knowledge into practice. Most textbooks and teaching videos are arranged in a general way that is not question-oriented and may not benefit for us to establish our own mind mapping and thinking system. It will definitely cost us a lot of time and energy to tackle the problem when learning the procedure or skills in this way. Nevertheless, provided that there is an expert assisting you, you can readily find the crux of the problem and even get some extra tips that help you sidestep some common pitfalls. For instance, I was asked to use one complicated software to tackle the data analysis problem in one seminar. After reading numerous books, I still could not come up with the right way to handle the problem. At that moment, a friend with expertise in this field assisted me and helped me deal with the problem accurately and efficiently.

In addition, it is also undeniable that we need some emotional support and encouragement in the process of learning new things. Imagine you study the procedure or tool alone. It is unavoidable that you will encounter some difficult issues that you cannot manage alone. If you focus on that question all the time, you may easily give up exploring and even lose self-confidence and self-efficacy. A knowledgeable person can not only offer some support in terms of skills and knowledge but also can encourage you to do some more in-depth research. For example, it is very difficult for me to comprehend the essence contained in the programming and I even cannot understand how to write the notes. It is my best friend who is an expert in this field that enables me to grasp a clear view of this subject and inspires my motivation. The companion gives me the courage to face more difficulties.

Admittedly, learning the procedure and tools by ourselves can facilitate problem-solving ability and reinforce our awareness of persistence. If time is unlimited, we can also take advantage of diversified media and learning materials. But the drawbacks are also apparent and under certain circumstances cannot be readily compensated since we are living in a high-paced society and every second should be cherished.

In a nutshell, I definitely render my support to the idea that we had better ask knowledgeable people for help. Every single day of our life is supposed to be made full use of, and according to this question, the merits of learning from others overweigh the advantages of learning on our own.