Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For any business to be successful, it must spend a lot of money on advertising.

Nowadays, with the prevailing trend of social media and manifold types of information channels, more and more companies prefer to enhance their investment in advertisements and believe that this strategy guarantees life-long success. As far as I am concerned, I definitely concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, for a start-up company, advertising plays a key role in building a good reputation and attracting customers. A new company can generate extensive publicity by making propaganda videos or articles about its products and putting them on manifold media channels, familiarizing customers with the products. As a result, customers will favor this brand that is widely advertised, and view it as a superior choice when shopping. In this way, this company will readily gain a firm foothold, rapidly expand its customer base, and increase market share. For example, Pepsi channeled a huge sum of money into advertisements at the beginning of its development. Before, people were more familiar with traditional brands. But after these advertisements were put into practice, Pepsi soon became prevailing all over the world and reaped profits as soon as possible. Now it has become one of the biggest beverage companies on the earth.

In addition, it is also advisable for well-established companies to allocate a lot of money to advertising to consolidate their customers and draw new consumers. In modern society, with fierce commercial competition between enterprises, possessing a solid circle of loyal customers is of dominate significance for every business giant. By advertising old products, the mature company is capable of leaving a strong impression on its old customers; by propagating new products and innovation, it is also granted the chance to catch the eyes of new consumers and divert them into loyal customers. For example, Coca-Cola invests millions of dollars in advertisements every year and designs videos for diverse consumers in different countries. By implementing this strategy, it maintains its advantages, reduces the possibility of losing customers, and even increases new customers when facing adversities and competition with Pepsi.

Admittedly, advertisements are not the cure-all, and sometimes human resources, management, and finance play a more crucial role when a company encounters difficulties and challenges. And provided that people find that the quality of products mismatches with the publicity, disappointment and other bitter feelings ensue, easily causing serious boycotts. However, we should also emphasize the merits and upsides of advertising listed above and make full use of this strategy. And it is always advertisements supporting products that guarantee ever-lasting profits in a long term.

In a nutshell, all firms, not only new start-up companies but also mature companies, are supposed to attach enough importance to advertisements. There is no substitute for the beneficial effects exerted by advertising. Only in this way, can a firm ensure its long-lasting development and keep profitable in the future.