For any business to be successful it must spend a lot of money on advertising

Due to the increasingly competitive market environment, the topic of what makes a business successful is being discussed with great enthusiasm. Some people believe that it must spend a lot of money on advertisement to become successful. However I disagree with this point of view.

Admittedly, advertising is important, but it is an exaggeration to say that a company must spend a lot of money on advertising to achieve success. After all, if a company's products are outdated/out of date and do not meet the needs of its customers, or if the after-sales service for its products is poor, the company will still fail. Furthermore, if excessive spending on advertising leads to limited funding in other areas, it can cause further problems for the company. This is because other segments, such as product innovation and customer service, require investment and they also play an irreplaceable role in business success.

Firstly, innovation is essential to the success of any business. It is well known that the product is the source of revenue and the lifeblood of a company, and advertising can only make a difference if the product meets customer needs and is practical. As customers’ expectations change with time, companies need to constantly innovate and develop new products to ensure that they adapt to the changes in their customers’ need, and if they anticipate future trends and launch innovative products in advance, they are sure to gain a definite advantage in the market. Recent years, because of the world- wide epidemic breakout, people’s daily pattern and basic needs are changed inevitably. For instance, many companies related to online education, e-commerce, remote conference have taken the advantages of the changing trend in market demand during COVID-19 and innovated, which ultimately led to their success.

Secondly, quality after-sale service guarantees the long-term success for a business. It is no longer the old days when customers only have few commodities to choose and they have nowhere to complain about the problems that they encounter while using the products. Although customer service might not receive as much attention as other factors in running a business, such as product, because it is not tangible, it is actually the key element in helping a company to increase customer satisfaction and maintain the its brand reputation. In addition, as the Internet becomes more prevalent in people’s daily life, consumers can easily voice their praise and frustration about any service they have received on their social networking sites or forums, where they gather diverse feedback and ratings that can be easily disseminated. Therefore, firms should always take the customer service seriously unless they want to lose their reputation.

To conclude, although advertising is essential, business should also spend money on invention and customer service for that they can help companies to become successful.