At one high school more of the students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments For example many of the students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignment The school is considering making a chan

As there are more and more students have cheated on their assignments, the school need to do something to decrease this negative trend. From my prospective, it is a advisable and practical measurement to increase the punishment for cheating.

First, by reinforcing the penalty for cheating, students who want to cheat and others who offer their homework to them will both be alarmed and will not dare to cheat. It is prevalent that students are so lazy that they do not want to work hard on their own and their friends just think that they are giving them a favor. This is because they do not know how bad the consequence they may face in the future. In order to make students fully understand how serious the cheating is, the best way is to increase the penalty.

Second, asking parents to monitor their children while they are doing homework to confirm that their children have not cheated is impractical. Although some people may say that it is parents' responsibility to make sure that their children not cheat on their homework, requiring parents to monitor children when doing assignments all the time is not reasonable. Since parents nowadays are really busy, they have to work 60 to 70 hours a week in most cases. Thus, they barely have time to monitor their children after a harsh day of working overtime.

Admittedly, some people also say that teachers should assign some homework that will be difficult for children to cheat so the students cannot cheat at all. However, this view underestimate the time and effort that require teachers to spend on creating such kind of difficult assignments. Specifically, most assignments contain single-choice questions and fill-in-blank question, which are easy to copied by students. Conversely, assignments like essays or short answer questions are difficult to copy. The time and effort spend on the later questions are far more than the former questions and it will put too much stress and burden on teachers if asking them only to assign difficult homework, which is not practical nor effective.

To conclude, the effective way to reduce the cheating on assignments is to increase the punishment for cheating.