“We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reasons on which that claim is based.

In today's increasingly polarized world, people are becoming increasingly exposed to schools of thought contradicting their own. In response to this change, some have questioned the educational value of such exposure. However, I firmly believe that although people having similar views can be enlightening, communication with people having opposing views are more educationally stimulating.

To begin with, information exchange with people of the opposite opinion can help us gain a more objective understanding of the world. If we trap ourselves inside the bubble of only one point of view, we will always see the world around us in only one way. By contrast, allowing exposure to opposite points of view forces us to look at our preëxisting beliefs and knowledge from another perspective. This will help us better learn the pros and cons of our view, and learn why people think differently from the way we do. For example, the majority of conservative politicians in the United States often disregard the viewpoints of left-leaning people, dismissing them as unimportant. Yet, a small number of conservatives have made an attempt to understand the rationale behind the views and the thoughts of their more liberal peers. After such experience, they have revealed that they now look at their previous opinions as woefully subjective and lacking in reason.

On top of that, learning from people with contradictory views can foster sympathy. We often take notice of the actions and words associated with another person's viewpoint. Yet, rarely do we ever take into account what has led them to believe and see the world in such a way. By understand what informed a person's outlook towards events in life, we can learn how to sympathize with people leading different lives from us. For instance, a person who supports the abolishment of college debt may have had a hard time paying off that debt in the past, and they do not want future generations to continnue having such a burden. Meanwhile, someone who is vehemently opposed to LGBTQ+ rights may be brought up in a conservative household, where homophobic and transphobic views reign supreme.

To sum up, an objective view of the world and a sense of sympathy can be achieved by learning from people whose views are opposite to our own. For these reasons, I firmly believe we can learn more from people with opposing views than those with similar views.