What historical event in your country has had a major effect on your country?

As my country has a rich history, there were many historical events that my nation witnessed. In my opinion, the establishment of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic had the most significant effect on our state. That is due to the fact that we became sovereign after 100 years of Russian imperialism.

First of all, immediately after our country became independent, we began to integrate into international society. Consequently we started to thrive in many aspects like economy, education, medicine. Although the lifespan of our country was short, we managed to make some momentous steps. For instance, our government granted women equal political rights with men, established the first modern-type university of Azerbaijan, gained official recognition, established diplomatic relations with a number of states, prepared a Constitution, designed and adopted our flag, made Azerbaijani the official language of our country. These actions made our country the first democratic republic in the Turkic and Muslim world and contributed to our second independence in the twentieth century.

Secondly, this made the defense of our nation easier, because our government made remarkable progress in the military. In my opinion that was one of the most essential act that should be done, since there were massacres of about 12,000 Azerbaijanis and other Muslim. As a result, we had our own army and this army was able to win the Battle of Baku. It played an important role in defending the western boarders.

Finally, it helped our nation to experience the feeling of freedom. I consider that liberty should be the most valuable thing for any nation, because there are too many nations, however, 195 of them have a country. Muhammad Amin Rasulzadeh, the national leader of Azerbaijan, also regarded the freedom as the main thing they provided people with.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that this event affected my country deeply. That is because we became autonomous after a long time.