What is the most useful action for an individual to take for the protection of the natural environment?

1. Leave vehicles at home and walk or ride a bike;

2. Reuse and recycle waste;

3. Purchase organic food in local markets.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the unprecedented development of the modern society, people are increasingly exploiting the environment without shouldering any responsibilities. Hence it is imperative for we human-beings to protect our environment unless we will be at the verge of depletion of resources. In my opinion, I suggest that leave vehicles at home and walk or ride a bike is a feasible solution. My points and examples are given below.

First of all, replacing the use of vehicles with bikes or subway can effectively save the environment. As nowadays almost everyone possesses his own car in society, hence if we can all choose to go biking rather than driving, our environment can undoubtedly be improved a lot. For instance, a survey has shown that the exhaust fumes of vehicles have caused nearly 80 percent of overall air pollution, such as the emission of carbon dioxide and fuels. Thus if we can reshape our means of trip, our environment can absolutely be enhanced a lot. And then, as less cars would be used, less cars would actually be manufactured. Hence less resources would be excavated from the nature, causing less environmental depletion.

Furthermore, the act of reusing or recycling waste is time-consuming, which is not well adapted for today’s trend of convenient life. Sometimes we have to consider the proper method of treating every kind of garbage and litters, hence such this process needs us to spend a lot of time and energy to execute. However, as contemporaries have already been busy, no one would actually try to be engaged with such the inconvenient and tricky things. For instance, as for me, when considering to recycle the bottles and plastics, firstly I need to make a place to save them and then I need to regularly contact with someone to sell these bottles. And I even have no plans about tackling with these plastic items! I feel they are dirty and noxious and thus I almost want to abandon them at all! Thus compared to the measure of transportation aspect, it is really troublesome. And it is always much easier and convenient for me to just transform my way of going out rather than make a lot of environmentally-friendly plans in my life!

Finally, there might be problems about packaging and food waste when consuming the food. Even though consuming these organic food can bring external benefits to the environment, people might feel careless about the packaging that can still harm the environment a lot. What’s more, a lot of people often fail to finish their food completely, hence causing the food waste. In a word, one improvement can be gained from one side, several negative consequences might also be brought from the other hand! But that problem could never be happened in the solution I ‘ve proposed.

Within the comprehensive analysis of every side, reshaping our modes of transportation can’t be a better way to conserve the environment. It is a much more convenient and straightforward way that do not cause any additional costs!