When giving feedbacks to students, some teachers would like to talk to their students

in person, while some teachers would give written comments to students. Which do

you prefer and why ?

From a general view, in the current state of affairs we observe, it is conspicuously clear that teaching communication’s strategies have played a significant and inevitable role in the world of education and science. In this regard, the vast majority of people are of the opinion that without face-to-face connections teachers cannot give efficient comments to students since some concepts needed to be clarified directly in order to have the expected impact. Some others, nevertheless, take an opposite point and hold the view that giving written comments is a more efficient method since sometimes students lose their confidence by receiving direct and face-to-face comments about their mistakes. As far as I am concerned, the advantages of direct communication outweigh those of written one, so I am personally inclined to prefer the direct communication. I cling to this perspective for two main reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

One of the reasons coming to mind at first is that direct communications help teachers to know students better and give more advantageous advice to them. To be more specific, when the only way of conveying between teachers and students is a written comment, teachers do not know why students make a mistake, so they cannot accurately acknowledge students who are truly talented. An example of my own drives this fact home. I remember when I was a senior student at the university, I taught some math courses in my previous school. Since the number of students was genuinely high in my class, I did not have adequate time to check all of them exclusively and talk to them directly about their assignments. As a result, one of my students who was literally genius got a low score in my course just because I did not know her sufficiently, and she had not done her homework well for being sick. Had I had enough time to give direct comments to my students, she would not have got a low score in her exam. This story clearly illustrates that direct connections give rise to knowing students better and expressing more effective recommendations.

Another equally noteworthy point in corroborating my stance is that by communicating face-to-face to give efficient comments, teachers can have a more positive influence on students. Owing to this fact, when teachers talk to students directly, induce them to study better and, as a result, get higher scores. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a high school student, I got an immensely low score in one of my courses since I had had a surgery the week before the exam. Then my professor beckoned me and asked me about the reason of this score. Consequently, I explained my situation to him and promised to get a better score in my final exam. His reaction really impressed me and made me study harder in order to get a genuine better score in my next exam. Hence, this example enlightened me that if professors convey face-to-face with their students, they will have more impact on them.

To put it in a nutshell, by taking into account the aforementioned reasons and examples, I firmly believe that giving direct comments by teachers to students is a more lucrative way. I feel this way because not only can teachers know the specific student better and give the more beneficial advice, but also they can have more influence on students by talking to them directly. It is highly recommended that a survey will be conducted in order to assess what other profound impacts it may have on students’ morale.