Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It's a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

It is highly accepted that each government spends lots of money on different issues. Most of the time, governments allocate federal funds to research about environment or economy, but the question of whether governments should fund space travel or not, has long been a topic of controversy among people. Some people believe that it is a waste of money to fund space travel, some other, nevertheless, take an opposite point. Personally, I am a favor of space exploration so I firmly agree with this statement. The following paragraphs will aptly elucidate my viewpoint through two outstanding reasons.

To begin with, finding a new planet for living is a considerable concern among researchers. Astronauts conduct plentiful research on finding the planet which has the condition of living since the rate of using earth’s resources increases daily as a result of population growth. If this increase continues, one day we will face lack of resources for living. There are a lot of things we do not know about space yet because of its extension. So we always have the chance to find a new planet that might be better for living with more water and space. Above statement only can happen if governments consider space exploration as a chief concern that needs to be funded adequately. For instance, by these explorations, Astronauts find out the existence of some resources such as water in the Mars. Hence, by more space travel, we have more planets suitable for living.

Moreover, we are always doubtful about the existence of aliens in other planets which we have not found yet. There is no evidence about this issue, but as we mentioned to the extension of space in the above paragraph, nothing is impossible. It is obvious from science fiction movies which are intensely celebrated by lots of people, that people all have been curious about existence and living of new creatures for many years. Also, thinking about this issue is enjoyable and frightening for most of them. For example, I remembered that whenever I saw some colorful lights in the sky in my childhood, I thought it was a spacecraft or some aliens who would like to come to our planet and annoy us or if they were kind, they would help us. I know that this imagination is really creepy, but it was literally enjoyable for me. I am sure that there are plenty of people who had my imagination in their childhood so this issue is actually a public concern. The only way to face this concern is conducting numerous research and exploring space which cannot be done without government support because it needs a large amount of money.

In conclusion, by taking into account the above- mentioned reasons, I believe that governments should fund space exploration. I feel this way because not only we can find another appropriate planet for living but also we may gain some information about aliens. It is highly recommended that governments take space exploration seriously and try to fix its financial requirements properly.