Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It's a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration. Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

As an inseparable part of glorious societies, the way government allocates the funds is one of the most primitive concerns of citizens, for which the budget division is nowadays being supervised by different legal institutions. However, the question of whether it is a waste of money for the government to fund space travel or space exploration, has aroused as the subject of controversy. When it comes to my position, I strongly believe that the government should spend the budget on the more important necessities of human beings. I have some reasons, two of which will be aptly explicated hereunder.

The first reason worth discussing here is that the government should pay more attention to the widespread environmental problems due to the galloping rate of population in recent decades. In fact, the modern world offers abundant examples of people suffering from wide assortments of respiratory disease as a result of the air pollution. To be more specific, because of deforestation, which is very common these days, a numerous number of trees are being lost annually which adversely affect the weather condition in cities. In other words, trees absorb carbon dioxide at nights and release oxygen; in this regard, not only do trees improve the air condition, but they reduce the effect of global warming in the atmosphere by decreasing the carbon dioxide as well. Moreover, the government should allocate more budget for developing and improving public transportation to encourage more people to use buses, subways, and trains. In this way, intact nature will be protected which is beneficially for both human beings and animals. To clarify, the forests are the main habitats for birds and other animals. In case humans destroy their habitats for the development of various civil projects, they will encounter a variegated stream of challenges to find their food and they will die or leave that area to find a better region. By doing so, people unintentionally contribute to the unpredicted problems. As a case in point, I vividly remember, two years ago, when the mayor of one of the cities in my country made a decision to destroy a rainforest for the road expansion project and the animals in that region, especially rabbits, face various kinds of difficulties for the reason that they rely on some kinds of trees to feed on the barks and leaves. It stands to the point that rabbits migrate to the surrounding farms and ate the crops, not to mention about the hard situation the farmers had due to the fact that rabbits have high reproductive rates and they could not control the detrimental soil and crops damages. Had the government not destroyed the rabbit’s habitats, the farmers would not have had these challenges to protect their crops. This example competently corroborates the fact that government should allot more budget for the protection of our surrounding environment.

By the same token, another equally paramount point to be mentioned is that government should improve the educational system in the country. As a matter of fact, people living in remote areas have not access to appropriate education. Allotting more budget for children education pave the way for them to continue their education in the best way. More precisely, if the state-of-the-art educational facilities are not be provided, people cannot be able to evaluate and analyze different life matters, nor can they earn their living. More precisely, thanks to the education, people can look out at the world through a new window. In other words, even though the experimental lessons which people gain are worthwhile, people by attending academic class can think differently and acquire the academic knowledge, which helps them broaden their horizons. In addition, in the present time, companies are more willing to employ people having a higher degree, so those who do not have academic degrees cannot have a decent job in the future and they definitely will not be successful in the job market. Furthermore, people will be aware of their abilities, provided that they have access to suitable knowledge because in this environment talents and capabilities of people will be discovered. Therefore, they become familiar with their strengths and can follow their dreams readily. These arguments throw some light on the point that education provides a spread spectrum of choices and opportunities in front of people and government should assign more budget for this vital need.

By and large, according to the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly subscribe to the view that when people are struggling in order to achieve their preliminary needs, exploring and traveling the space are not important and other inevitable necessities are on top of the people's priorities. After all, improving surrounding environment and educational facilities have a variety of unseen effects on natural, economy, human welfare. I strongly recommended that government should allocate more budget for basic human needs rather than secondary needs. This will give us the hope of having the chance to see a brighter future regarding our society.