Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

The government decisions have very crucial effects on our life. The officials are responsible for education, defense, and even transportation. It has been reported that millions of dollars of tax revenues are invested in transportation systems alone. Some people believe that a huge amount of money should be spent on public transportation. Others feel investment on the roads and highways is more important. In my view, paying attention to improve streets and roads is more significant for a society for two important reasons.

The first reason that comes to my mind is that government should have a plan to decrease car accidents on the roads and highways. Nowadays, the majority of reported car accidents are because of the low quality of roads. For instance, there are a lot of pothole on our main street, w hich put drivers in a hazardous condition. Since drivers cannot observe them, especially if they drive above the speed limit, they might lose their control. Therefore, they have to break suddenly, which increases the probability of potential accidents. In addition, the street is very narrow so that the majority of cars have trouble with turning and changing direction on it. Reporters have been shown that the accident statistics are very high on this street due to the mentioned problems. As a result, the government should have an accurate plan for paving this street in the near future. This plan should be effective in such a way that reduces the transportation disasters. As you can see, improvement of roads and highways leads to reduce accidents.

The second significant reason is that investment for improving roads would assist the transportation services to operate well. Spending a huge investment on transportation systems while the conditions of roads and highways are poor is just waste of money. A prime example of my own experience may shed some light at this point. Let’s go back 10 years ago when my father was the mayor of Danville, a city located in Pennsylvania State. He invested a large amount of money on high-speed modern buses for the city. Even though the buses were highly fast, they had to consume a large amount of gas, which finally resulted in increasing carbon dioxide emission into the environment. If my father did spend money to construct new roads and build bridges, he would be able to shorten distances and prevent environmental pollution caused by long-distance driving, as well as increase citizens’ satisfaction. This example taught me investing money in renewing roads and highways might be more effective than transportation systems.

Taking into all of the aforementioned factors, spend money on the improvement of roads is not only reduce the car accidents but also assist to improve quality of both transportation systems and roads. The government should have very good management on tax revenue and the way of spending it.