Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay

With the accelerating development of our society, arts and athletics have been playing two important roles in our daily life. it's hard to judge which has more significance. while some people are advocators for that governments should spend more fund in support of the arts, there're also many people believe athletics worth more attention and investment. From my perspective, I disagree that the governments spend more money on supporting arts.

first, supporting the athletics can provide more chances and better environments for the athletes. government has influence to the public. when government indicate that they would like to put more money on supporting athletics, that also means they support that citizens pay more energy and income on sports. sports means more than arts to some degree, and the activities can involve almost all kinds of people even handicaps. For instance,if the government would like to cultivate athletics such as sportsmen from olympic teams, the influence of a gold medalist is huge. children would arouse their interest in sports for the athletes have set a good example. Sportsmanship could be a good teacher for teenagers, they need somebody to tell them when facing the difficulties and sufferings, they should overcome them with their diligence, perseverance and strong belief. only if the sports are paid attention by nation and citizens,the country would develop better with their strong and healthy people.

let's talk about why we don't spend more fund on the arts. As I have mentioned, sports are highly educational, while arts are not so appropriate to education. it's known that arts are somehow obscure and pluralistic. An art work may contain different and several meanings,and some reflect the dark side in the society, which is too early for the children to know, and teenagers without right directions would imitate some of the actions.

also, there's a saying that‘artists are inspired by the suffering.' vincent van Gogh was a best example. he lived cleanly and poorly,with no money, no women ,or applause. while Auguste Rodin was hiring beautiful naked models dancing in the studio, vincent has no money to hire models, so he can only paint towards the mirror again and again, lone and bitter artists can figure their spirit on the paper, in their work,we read more than beauty,but a thought,an attitude , an era. Roman Rolland has said ‘Poverty is not only a mentor of the mind, but also a tutor of style. it makes spirit and mental to be indifferent towards fame and fortune.'

To maximize the profit, government will tend to invest the money on a more profitable project. if we invest the same money on an art exhibition and a sports competition, that would be very easy to tell that the sports competition will appeal more audience and attract more attention. sports will become a culture if we treated it seriously, like olympics, which symbols freedom and equality. And if a country, unfortunately was involved in a war, the museum and artworks are very likely to be destroyed, these masterpieces almost are the entire worth of the arts, but sports don't. like olympics, it was suspended during World War,but a year after that, olympics returned.

Finally, the relation between artists and athletes are interactive. athletes represent the national physical strength, artists represent the national mental strength. Neither of them are unimportant. but as for a country, we need our people physically strong first, we hope to let the athletes be our good examples, when we see our athletes fight against the rivals, we feel uniform, a kind of national cohesion.

In conclusion, governments should spend more money in support of the athletics, such as state-sponsored olympic teams and so on. And athletics field can perform better than now if we pay more attention to it.