whether should parents tell their children to choose a major leading to a good job with a high salary or to follow a major in which they are interested in

Beyond a shadow of a doubt, it is prevalent among people that they frequently get stuck with a variety of options when they have to choose their ideal job. On that ground, parents could be the best source who can provide them with appropriate solutions since they are the closest to their children. In this regard, many people contend that parents should advise their children to work in their interested field. On the other side, there is a group of people who believe that it is better to prioritize salary while selecting a major. Certainly, from my vantage point, the former view contains more weight. For the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons and examples justifying my stance.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that, initially, it seems a little challenging to reach a consensus on this issue, I, to a great extend, believe that students’ performance is utterly dependent on their subject of interest. Consequently, they would perform spectacularly well on those subjects in which they are more interested, whereas their focus might get lost or they might not give their best efforts on subjects in which they are least interested. Similarly, this rule will be applied when they start working following their graduation. To shed more light on this, my brother’s life is a compelling example of what has been elaborated above. My brother was always interested in the music field, nevertheless, he studied marketing as a major subject due to my parent’s willingness to see him working in a big international firm. In reality, when he started his job in the marketing field, it was really difficult for him to showcase his best ability at work since he never wanted to be a part of a marketing firm in his life. Unfortunately, he was fired due to his low performance. Fortunately, meanwhile, he started performing in the orchestra as a guitarist. Surprisingly, within a few years, not only did he become a renowned guitarist in my country, but also, he started earning equally to those who work in the medical field. Ultimately, had he been allowed to become a guitarist at the first attempt, he would never have had to pass through difficulties in his life whereby he was fired. Thus, this consequence enforce me to posit that children should select their career very precisely and accurately in which they are interested.

Another noteworthy reason is that selecting a major based on a high salary might lead to severe negative consequences which probably affect young ones’ mental health as well as their professional life in the future. As a matter of fact, despite the fact that money is a crucial part of our lives especially when children have to make their mind which academic field will serve them higher salary packages, it is not the only subject that parents consider. To exemplify, as I mentioned above, when my brother used to work in a marketing firm, his low performance forced him to start consuming alcohol. In fact, after a few months, he was in mental depression and his life became miserable. Admittedly, it is wise for me to think that parents should reconsider the long-term effects whenever they advise their children to choose a career.

To recapitulate, from contemplating all remarks, in spite of the fact that some may not agree with my viewpoint, I radically stand for the notion which suggests that parents should give liberty to their children and not make a salary as their first priority. This is because children might not perform well and lose their job if they are least interested in what they do and because it can damage their profession as well as their personal life too.