which do you prefer to ease homesicknesses?

1. to eat local food? 2. or to attend local activities? 3. or to go on a trip? 4. or to learn a course?

Nowadays, more and more people move to a new place because their work, children, study etc. In this kind of situation, people are far away from their home and face up to new settings, so it's prone that they become homesick, and even suffer from psychological disorder. Hence, it is necessary for them to ease their homesickness properly. From my perspective, to eat local food or attend local activities is the best among the four choices.

Above all, tasting local food every day can help us get more accustomed to the local life style, thus mitigating the sickness. As the ancient Chinese saying goes 'food, the essence of people's daily life', it is essential for one person to have some food every day, which he or she enjoys, especially when at a new place. Because adapting to the local food styles can make us having every dinner and supper comfortably. At that time, people would find coziness and comfort in food, so they would just forget about their homesickness. In this regard, we can turn to my close friend Jimmy. He went abroad for further study about one year ago, and initially he really felt so homesick that he often lost sleep at night. As a result, his academic performance was awful. Then one of his friends there took him out for dinner every day, as a way to try new food and change mood for Jimmy. Subsequently, Jimmy fell in love with the local taste and love to eat local food. He often invites others to taste some unfamiliar local food and have fun. As days went by, his homesickness was totally obliterated.

Secondly, attending local activities render us golden opportunities to make new friends and communicating with them. When you are out there for activities, you would meet lots of people. By attending activities together, the relationship gets closer and you will also have more common topics with others. So you can access people from all walks of life and make friends with them. In this process, you would feel that you are making new friends and the new place would be just like your new home too. The homesickness will disappear after you adjust yourself into the new place and make new friends. According to a recently released survey, people's mood will change for better during their activities with friends, which means attending local activities can detach you from the feeling of missing home. This is exactly the effect we want for homesick people. If you feel homesick, why not just attending local activities the way you also do at hometown? As a matter of fact, going out for indigenous activities is really helpful for homesick people.

Although the two things above are really important, the other choices may help ease the sickness too. Connecting old friends probably help weaken the sickness but could not kill it at the root of it. The core of homesickness is that people have not fit into the new surroundings. Once they do, the sickness will just go away.

To sum up, eating local food or attending local activities is necessary for homesick people, as I suppose. Only when you fit into the new place and regard it as your new home will you manage to overcome homesickness, and the two approaches above could exactly enable homesick people to fit into the new community.