Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Younger school children (aged five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science and history.

Art and music are the greatest cultural inheritances from our ancestors and elites of our times. For children, starting to learn art and music can help them develop their ability, communicate with others and enjoy their life. In this sense, I agree with the statement for a number of reasons.

To start with, as is often pointed out, art and music can enhance children's ability of imagination, concentration and perseverance. Music is an expressive art of sound and the meaning of every musical note has unique profoundness which leaves our children unlimited scope of imagination. They could interpret the music they heard in their own way and that's why even a baby would move its body to a piece of music. What's more, in daily exercises, in order to perfect their skill and control every sound, children have to control themselves and attach more attention to music. That's how their concentration is improved. Finally, after years' unremitting efforts, they may attend some contests and, of course, if they really stick to music and are fond of it, some prizes will be given and more important, they learn a priceless lesson that perseverance will pay off.

Next, art and music can better children's disposition and temperament. The process of learning art and music can improve communication among students and teachers. They may express their emotion freely and establish a special bridge of communication with others. When they play a piece of music or paint a picture skillfully and beautifully, sense of self-achievement and activeness has been built up unconsciously. According to a recent survey made by Chinese Academy of Social Science, many children are becoming better-tempered, warmer, more generous, and more willing to help and communicate with others, after starting to learn art and music for a period of time.

Last but not least, art and music can heighten children's life quality and taste. An evaluation of high quality and taste is always given to art students, who always have a unique perspective towards many issues. The simple reason is that art comes from life and higher than life. Student learning art definitely enjoy life of higher quality than others. Besides, all masterpieces of famous musicians and painters should be the learning materials for the students. With the influence from those great figures in history, students' horizon will be certainly broader.

In sum, all the evidence confirms an undoubted conclusion that children aged from 5 to 10 should start to learn music and art. It will surely benefit their school life and life after.