Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children as good citizens and workers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the proliferation of quality education and skyrocketing development of technology, more and more people can have access to better education. Meanwhile, there are more and more private education institutes to enrich students' knowledge. In terms of the school's function, some of the public contend that schools are mainly supposed to cultivate good citizens and workers. However, I cast doubt on this statement, in that the main purpose of schools is to impart knowledge and it is the parents that should shoulder this obligation.

Schools are places where students learn knowledge. It is universally acknowledged that teachers should impart the knowledge coming from different subjects, but most of the subjects are limited to basic ones, like Maths, Linguistics, Science etc. These subjects can tell the students how the world works. Take Science to illustrate. It helps to explain how the system of the nature specifically work to sustain the all the living creatures. Then here comes a question: could these subjects teach students how to behave and become good citizens or workers? Obviously, the answer is no. All these popular courses in most fundamental education systems are intending to educate them to be more informed of the society, the world and the whole universe. Hence, it is not majorly supposed for schools to teach them how to be a good citizens or workers.

Furthermore, it is the family's responsibility to teach students how to become a well-behaved citizen in the future. It is well-known that "children are parents in miniature". For most children, according to scientific studies, their behavior patterns are more likely to follow those of the parents or other families. It is very apparent that teachers are not who stay with the children for the most of the time, compared to their parents or other family members. Hence, it is not to blame the teachers or other teaching staff for the behavioral and moral education, if one of the students do not behave well.

As a matter of fact, there still can be some moral courses in schools. For example, it is very common among most primary schools and middle shools in Shanghai that the students have to pass the moral and behavioral exams to successfully graduate. Even for tertiary-level education like colleges, we still have moral course, which tells us how to become a truly mature adult rather than to stay childish. Hence, we can tell that even though it is not the main responsibility for the schools to foster the children's citizenship quality, many schools are trying to make up for what parents may lack in their children's moral and behavioral education.

From what I have explained above, we can safely arrive at the conclusion that school's main purpose is not to make students potentially good citizens and workers, but to equip them with affluent knowledge that may benefit them for the whole life. Also, the main burden should fall on the family, especially parents, to educate their children how to become socially responsible, to bahave well and to become a good worker.