Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, with the skyrocketing development of technology, the past decades have witnessed huge progress of the society. While this brings about increasing living standards, some may argue that it also gives birth to some rules, which are too strict for young people to follow. However, I do not agree with this opinion. From my perspective, it is beneficial for young people to follow these rules, since they help the youth to develop good behaviors and also protect them from potential dangers.

To begin with, the current rules help to keep young people on the right track. It is very common that many youngsters do not have a clear understanding of the society and its mechanism since most of them are in schools and lack social experience. Thus, the possibility of their misbehaviors can be at an extremely high level. For example, young people may feel it unnecessary for them to study at schools and thus just quit. Instead, they just wander along the streets every day, with nothing to do. In this case, it is highly possible that they will become jobless in the future, or even become criminals. However, rules can make sure that most of the young children can be well educated before their adulthood, and such situations mentioned above will be strangled in the cradle.

Furthermore, these rules can ensure the order of the society. Rules and regulations are made by the authorities to let the society run in an orderly way, without which the society will fall in a turmoil. Hence, it is universally acknowledged that abiding by the regulations contributes to the maintenance of the society order. Meanwhile, if everybody follows the regulations, then the society will become more harmonious and efficient. Thus, more achievements and breakthroughs can be attained, thereby benefitting individuals more in return. Once realizing the advantages of obeying the rules, the youth will be more willing to do so in the future, which forms a virtuous cycle. The reason why they may find it hard to accept these rules lies in the fact that they have not understand the nature of these rules and the benefits of them.

However, some rules impose unnecessary restrain on the young generation. There does exist some regulations, like students have to follow a certain answering patterns in order to gain the points in exams. With higher points, they can be admitted to their ideal academies. This may curb their creativity and imagination in some way. Nonetheless, the solution to this problem is not acting against the rules. Only by trials and errors, will the regulations system become better in the future.

In a nutshell, the merits of obeying rules prevail over the demerits. Therefore, I suppose the rules that current society expects the young people to follow are not too strict, as they can keep the youth on the right track and help to maintain the society order.